Books, English

Books and Minds

At the end of the last year, my wife and I bought a 5-book box set of Game of Thrones. They are pocket editions and are all in English. They are amazing (I still haven’t read them all, I am on the first one)!

But I know Tyrion Lannister. I have read the first and second Portuguese editions.

He’s the kind of person who is different from everyone, while knowing how to use his alternative qualities and take advantage from his weakness.

One of the best quotes I found in A Song of Ice and Fire is from him.

“My mind is my weapon. My brother has his sword, King Robert has his warhammer, and I have my mind… and a mind needs books as a sword needs a whetstone, if it is to keep its edge.”

It’s a simple definition of why we need to keep studying, pushing our mind forward every day, reading books in foreign languages and so on.

Our mind is just like a muscle: you have to exercise it constantly. Maybe not only by reading books, but how about listening to a podcast in another language? Or watching an entire movie without subtitles? Or reading that one technical book you read and didn’t understand a word of?

Our mind is our weapon. If you want to be a better person everyday, keep it sharp!

So, what books are you reading right now?

Well, I am reading Game of Thrones (as you have already predicted), Choose Yourself (from James Altucher), and Développement Durable (from François Anctil, in French).

Leave a Reply

